Rush Hour revved up to thrill at Highlands

Cromwell will play host to the country’s fastest Rush Hour traffic when Speed Works hits town over the weekend of January 18 /19 and the field of 25 plus cars for the one hour race on the Saturday will be a huge weekend highlight.

Headed by former World Championship rally winner Hayden Paddon making his circuit racing debut in his Hyundai i30 TCR car, Speed Works’ biggest ever Rush Hour field is all set to do battle for 60 minutes around the world class Highlands Motorsport Park facility and it really is anyone’s race.

Circuit owner Tony Quinn is a spectacular addition to the field in his mighty Mosler GT3 car, but even his extensive circuit knowledge will be put to the test in a high class field that includes 10 Porsches, a number of GT3 and GT4 cars and at least six TCR specification cars. McLaren, Chevrolet, Ginetta, Audi, Mazda, Honda, Porsche, Hyundai, Volkswagen, Toyota, Mosler and Seat are all represented in the race – which will also be broadcast live on Sky Sports Channel 55.

A dark horse for overall victory could be Callum Hedge, one of the country’s brightest young stars. After achieving notable successes in single seaters in New Zealand and Australia, he’s switching to Porsches and has a 991 Cup car at his disposal around a circuit he excels on.

“It’s a really good field by any standards already and there’s plenty of mouth-watering machinery in the field to get the fans excited,” said promoter Geoff Short.

“It’s too difficult a call to even identify a race favourite given the format of Rush Hour where anyone can win, so it should be well worth coming to watch live or enjoying on Sky. We reckon it will be an absolute cracker with plenty of local interest and plenty of attention on Hayden in his first circuit race. Entries are still open too and we’d welcome even more cool cars and fast drivers.”

With handicapping rules in Rush Hour races favouring drivers who can maintain a pace closest to their qualifying speed, any driver – including Paddon – has an equal chance of winning.

Rules don’t restrict the talented amateur racers wanting to take on the pros. Rush Hour is held over a full hour, with a rolling start and the compulsory pit stop being taken during a dedicated pits stop window. The duration of the pit stop is defined by qualifying performance, so the faster the car in qualifying, the longer its compulsory pit stop. Tyre changes and refuelling are also permitted. The result of all of that is that cars that can get closest to their qualifying pace without going over it and maintain that pace for the longest period will be in with a shout of winning outright.

Anyone wishing to compete in the race can do so by entering here –

Highlands Motorsport Park Rush Hour entry list

Hayden Paddon – Hyundai i30 TCR               
Garry Derrick – Porsche 991.1 GT3 Cup                                                 
Steff Chambers – Porsche 996 GT3 Cup                     
Ben Silcock – Toyota 86                                           
Hayden Knighton – Porsche 997 Cup Car      
Jonas Paterson – Porsche 991.1 GT3 Cup                 
Bruce Davidson – Chevrolet Corvette C6R               
Steve Scoles – Ginetta G55 GT4                                              
Tim James – Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport
Anthony Leighs – Porsche 991.2 GT3 Cup                 
Dennis Chapman – Audi TCR RS3 LMS                           
Debbie Chapman – Audi TCR RS3 LMS                           
Callum Hedge – Porsche 991.1 GT3 Cup                 
Barry Moore – Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR            
Kev Jarvis – VW Golf GTI                                      
Ron Mackersy – Volkswagen Jetta TDI                    
Tim Mackersy – Seat Cupra TCR                                
Mike Driver – Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR                                      
Andrew Brunton – Mazda RX8                                         
Martin Dippie – Porsche 991.1 GT3 Cup                 
David McAlpine – McLaren 570 GT4                                            
Tony Quinn – Mosler MTR900 GT3                                      
Guy Stewart – Porsche 911 IROC                            
Daniel Cropp –  Honda Civic SiR                 
Danny Whiting/Tim Miles Porsche 991.2 GT3 Cup